Instant Answers/Account Management/Account Settings

How does Pinterest use data about other websites I visit?

Jana Piazza
posted this on July 26, 2013 12:02

If you go to a site that has the Pin It button (or some other Pinterest widget), Pinterest can use info about that visit to customize your experience back on Pinterest. For example, if you visited a bunch of cooking websites recently, we might show you more recipe Pins, or show you other stuff that people have added from those websites.

Here’s how it works:

  1. When you go to a Pinterest-infused site, Pinterest uses a cookie to note the visit. (What’s a cookie? Just a super-small file that gets auto-added to your browser.)

  2. The next time you sign onto Pinterest, Pinterest reads the cookie and use the info to personalize your experience. If you aren’t signed in or haven’t signed up yet, Pinterest can also use cookies to customize your sign-up experience and start you off with stuff we think you might like to follow.

  3. Pinterest deletes this data after 30 days, which is about as long as we think info like this is useful for personalizing your experience.

If you don’t want Pinterest using stuff you do off Pinterest to personalize your experience, here are some things you can do:

  • Go to your account settings and turn off Personalization.

  • If you don’t have Pinterest account yet, or you aren’t signed in, check the box below:

    Allow Pinterest to personalize my experience using sites I visit.

    Please note: Pinterest uses a cookie to remember what you choose here, so if you ever clear the cookies in your browser, you’ll need to come back and update your preferences again.

  • You can also change your browser’s Do Not Track feature to keep Pinterest and other sites from using this info.

 
Topic is closed for comments